Brill Church Of England School

With the Wind in our Sails

Congratulations to our neighbours, Windmill Pre-School, on the result of their latest OFSTED assessment - "Outstanding"!


I'm delighted to be Chair of Governors. I am the Chairman of a digital marketing company, and I am more than happy to put my business skills and experience at the disposal of the School.

The government and the economic climate have brought more pressure than ever onto the education system. Schools are having to do more with less, and so strong leadership and governance is vital to secure the best future for everybody associated with the school.

Nevertheless, Brill School has an opportunity not only to become an outstanding school in its own right, but also to continue to help our children to develop to their full potential. This involves not only those items on the curriculum, but also their rounded development across the board.

As a governor, I am here to provide whatever support I can to help the school achieve all that it can for all of our children.

I’m married to Louise, with a daughter at the school, and a son who has now graduated to the Sir Henry Floyd Grammar School. I'm a graduate of the University of Warwick and I've lived in the area since 1986. We've lived in Brill since 2004, and we would highly recommend it.


Jonathan Wagstaffe, Chair of Governors

Rebecca Field

Vice-Chair, Governors

Chair, Education & Standards Cmte

Matthew Keegan


Chair, Finance Cmte

Liz Cotgreave

Parent Governor

Chair, Governor & Comms Cmte

Margaret Kean


Chris Noyce


Chair, Premises Cmte

Nick Phipps


Chair, People Cmte

Elaine Vaile


Louise White

Headteacher and Staff Governor

Tom Gore

Assistant Head and Staff Governor

Rev'd Priscilla Slusar

Foundation Governor

Co-opted Governors


Katy Jamieson - Safeguarding


 financial statement to august 2017.pdfDownload
 financial statement to august 2016.pdfDownload
 declarations of business interest 2016-17.pdfDownload
 declarations of business interest 2017-18.pdfDownload
Showing 1-4 of 4

The Governing Body

The Governing Body of Brill School is formed of people from all walks of life - from parents of children in the School, to members of the local community who want to give something to the School.

All give their time, free of charge, endeavouring to ensure that your child’s education is the best it can be.

The Governing Body carries out its responsibilities by setting targets, challenging the way things are done and by adopting and checking that relevant policies are being implemented.

Regular meetings take place together with the Headteacher.

The full Governing Body meets twice each term, but because the running of a school is a complex issue, the Governing Body is split up into a number of sub-committees and/or working parties.  These include: Education and Standards, Finance, People, Premises and Governor & Comms. 

Structure of the Full Governing Body

3 Members: Anne Davey (Director of Education Oxford Diocese), Jonathan Wagstaffe (Chair of Governors), Rebecca Field (Vice Chair).

Full Governing Body comprised of 12 governors: 2 staff; 2 parents; 3 foundation; 5 other

Committees: Finance; People; Education & Standards; Premises; Governor & Comms.

Governor Attendance

For serving governors, please see their individual pages for their attendance record.

Governors who resigned at the end of August 16:

Andy Leach, meetings attended 15/16  5 out of 5

Fiona Cayley meetings attended 15/16  4 out of 5

Judith Dickinson meetings attended 15/16  5 out of 5

Alan Turner-Smith meetings attended 15/16  3 out of 5

Governors who resigned at the end of August 17:
Katy Jamieson, meetings attended 16/17 3 out of 4
Tracy Massie, meetings attended 16/17 2 out of 4